© 2020, Norebro theme by Colabrio, All right reserved.

Is Popcorn Gluten-Free?

admin - November 11, 2021 - 0 comments

So, is popcorn gluten-free? At Best Popcorn Company, we get this question all the time and we understand why people ask it. We can assure you that all the popcorn we sell at Best Popcorn Company is gluten-free! Popcorn is a special type of corn that puffs up when heated. While corn is a whole-grain food, all types of corn are gluten-free. This is true as long as it’s not seasoned with ingredients containing gluten.   How is our incredible kettle corn ACTUALLY made? Well, it boils down to four simple ingredients: corn, corn oil, sugar, and salt. We first add the corn and corn oil to the kettle and heat the mixture. As the corn heats up and pops, we add a healthy dose of sugar to the kettle. This allows the heat to caramelize the sugar and attach to the corn itself. Finally, after pouring the corn into the sifter, we sprinkle a bit of salt.

Is Popcorn Gluten-Free

Why is Popcorn Gluten-Free?

  Gluten is a protein found in whole-grain foods such as wheat, rye, barley, and triticale. Gluten is what makes dough elastic and baked goods chewy. For many people, this is desirable. Bread with no gluten wouldn’t be fluffy and soft. Some people, though, struggle with digestive issues that prevent them from eating gluten. Celiac disease is an autoimmune condition that gluten triggers. Some people have a gluten intolerance which can have a range of symptoms.   Corn does not contain gluten. This means that unless you add gluten to it, popcorn is a naturally gluten-free food! Celiac.com even agrees that popcorn is safe for gluten-free diets! They do also mention to watch for additives that may contain gluten. This is especially true if you are purchasing microwave or prepackaged popcorn. Best Popcorn Company is careful to make all our flavors gluten-free. You won’t have to worry if your popcorn is gluten-free, no matter which of our many popcorn flavors you choose!  

Is Popcorn Flavoring Gluten-Free?

  Flavoring is the main thing to watch out for with popcorn. There are certain seasonings and spices which do contain gluten. This can be problematic for those with gluten sensitivity. Make sure to read ingredient labels to be sure they are safe to eat. If you are making popcorn yourself, be sure you check every single ingredient. This applies whether your microwaving, popping yourself, or eating pre-popped popcorn.   Many flavorings have extra ingredients or additives you might not expect. This is why it’s so important to read the label. Or make it easy and choose Best Popcorn Company. All our delicious popcorn flavors are gluten-free!  

Is Our Popcorn Gluten-Free?

We pride ourselves on making all flavors gluten-free, including cheddar, caramel, and more! You can buy popcorn in bags and mixes that make excellent gifts for your gluten-free friends! Best Popcorn Company also offers popcorn bars for occasions like weddings and parties!   We love creating flavored popcorn gifts for weddings, special events, and occasions. It warms our hearts to be part of the memories you make with family and friends. Our unique and delicious popcorn is sure to give people something to talk about. No one will believe how delicious popcorn can be. Plus you’re guests won’t have to ask you “is popcorn gluten-free?” You can trust Best Popcorn Company to bring a delicious treat that’s safe to eat! We even do custom orders of flavored popcorn gift bags and tins. Contact us to learn more or shop online if you can’t wait to try our amazing gourmet popcorn!

Related posts

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *