Does Popcorn Contain Gluten or Wheat?

At Best Popcorn Company, we get this question all the time and we understand why people ask it. We can assure you that all the popcorn we sell at Best Popcorn Company is gluten free! Popcorn is a special type of corn that puffs up when heated. While corn is a whole-grain food, all types of corn are gluten-free, as long as it’s not seasoned with ingredients containing gluten. But how is our stunning kettle corn ACTUALLY made? Well, it boils down to four simple ingredients: corn, corn oil, sugar, and salt. We first add the corn and corn oil to the kettle and heat the mixture. As the corn is heated and pops, we add a healthy dose of sugar to the kettle. This allows the heat to caramelize the sugar and attach to the corn itself. Finally, after pouring the corn into the sifter, we sprinkle a bit of salt.

What is gluten?

Gluten is a protein found in whole-grain foods such as wheat, rye, barley and triticale. Gluten is what makes dough elastic and baked goods chewy. It can cause severe intestinal problems with individuals that struggle with celiac and other intestinal diseases. Popcorn does not contain wheat, rye, or barley gluten—the types of gluten most associated with gluten disorders. Many people with celiac disease, gluten sensitivity or wheat allergies can enjoy this wholesome, healthful snack.

Popcorn Flavoring

Flavoring is the main thing to watch out for with popcorn. Different seasonings and spices can contain gluten which makes popcorn unsafe for those with Celiacs. Make sure to read ingredient labels to be sure they are safe to eat. Whether you’re eating microwaveable popcorn, pre-popped popcorn, or making your own the hard way, make sure everything that’s been added to the popcorn for flavoring is gluten-free.

If you’re looking for gourmet gluten-free popcorn, try Best Popcorn Company! We pride ourselves on making all flavors gluten-free, including cheddar, caramel, and more! Our products can be purchased in bags and in mixes that make excellent gifts for your gluten-free friends! The popcorn crew at the Best Popcorn Company also offers popcorn bars for all types of occasions like weddings and parties!

We love creating popcorn gifts for weddings, special events and occasions, and everything in between. We especially love creating memories for you and your loved ones that will last for an eternity with our impeccable gourmet caramel popcorn making skills. Again, popcorn is a snack that everyone can enjoy because popcorn is gluten free.

If you are looking to have the best popcorn gift custom-made, click here and place your order today and let us get started in creating your gluten free popcorn right away.

admin, February 5, 2019

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

*

No Comment Yet

Got something to say? Feel free, we'd love to hear your thoughts.

Leave a Comment